Day 5

Good morning, friends!

Today’s prompt is:
November 5, 2013
Today in the UK it is Guy Fawkes night (or Bonfire night). Do you like this day? How do you feel about fireworks?

Remember Remember the 5th November,
The gunpowder, treason & plot.
I know of no reason why the gunpowder treason
should ever be forgot.

The history of Guy Fawkes Night does make me somewhat uneasy I must confess. Living in Glasgow with the rivalries between Rangers & Celtic, Protestant & Catholic, Nationalist & Republican – it opens your eyes. I didn’t know about Guy Fawkes night being a traditionally Anti-Catholic event until a few years ago although I think now, that meaning has passed. Would you agree?

Anyway. Bonfire night has always, always been my favourite night of the year. My Mum wouldn’t let us go out guising for Hallowe’en when we were wee because she said it was just begging, so 5th November was our (delayed) fun. I can remember going with my Dad to the rugby club up the road, sitting on a hill and just enjoying the bright lights and big bangs.

As soon as I found out that there’s a massive fireworks show on Glasgow Green every year, that was where we started going. Every year since then, we’ve been there and I love that it’s become our little family tradition. Tonight I am drumming with SheBoom in George Square at 5.30pm as part of a National Anti-Austerity demonstration before heading off to see the bangbangs with my babies.

I assume everyone in the world has seen this (totally fake but hilarious) Glasgow Fireworks video..?

So yeah!

Us a couple of years ago (when I was blonde!)
IMG_7048

My favourite fireworks photo ever:
IMG_1296

If you’re out tonight, be safe and have fun!

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view the NaBloPoMo Day 5 entries

8 thoughts on “Day 5

  1. Guy Fawkes night – a night where a king ordered fires and explosions to happen to celebrate not getting killed by fires and explosions. Sure, totally makes sense!

    By the way? You take gorgeous photographs. You have some real talent. ;)

  2. Its funny how your upbringing kinda leads to your stance on things today. Being a Northern Irish Catholic, we were very aware of what Guy Fawkes night was, and hence to this day don’t celebrate Guy Fawkes, but do celebrate Halloween.

    I do however looove fireworks, which put me in an awkward position! Needless to say fireworks win all the time… though funny enough very rarely on the 5th November! Even managed to enjoy them this year in New Zealand, being ex commonwealth, the tradition is alive and kicking here too!

Please do leave a comment, they make me cheerful :)

