Tablet

When I first moved into my own place my parents made me promise two things: Firstly, that I wouldn’t get a deep fat fryer and secondly that I would never try to make tablet on my own. I was so terrified of exploding vats of milky sugar that I have heeded their request until now. By the way, I moved out in 1998 so they really put the fear of God into me. For those of you who have never had the Scottish tablet experience, you’ve missed out! It is probably the sweetest thing you will ever eat but it is incredibly addictive. The closest thing I can compare it to is fudge but tablet has a much grainier texture.

Tablet

I have to say that I’m raging I waited this long to try and make it because it was dead easy. So! Here I shall walk you through it. PLEASE don’t make this if there are kids around you, leave it until they’ve gone to bed. Also – in case I don’t remind you enough during the instructions do NOT stop stirring.

Ingredients
1kg white sugar (caster or granulated is fine)
120ml (1/2 cup) milk
100g unsalted butter
1 can (approx 400g) condensed milk (I found a non-Nestle version by a company called Farmlea in Sainsburys)

You will also need:
The largest pan you own (stock-pot kind of size)
a cup of cold water
a teaspoon
one square baking tray, lined with greaseproof paper
Wooden spoon

  1. Make sure you have everything in the above list because if you have to stop stirring your tablet, you’ll ruin the whole lot and you’ll be furious at yourself. Ask me how I know.
  2. Put the sugar into the pan and pour the milk evenly over the top. Cut your butter into slices and put it in the pan with the condensed milk. Lick the condensed milk spoon (this stuff has 1300 calories per can. Relish it.) Turn the heat on the lowest setting and start stirring.
  3. Once the sugar melts and the mixture becomes more liquid, turn the heat up to a medium level. Keep stirring until the mixture comes to the boil, making sure you regularly run the spoon around the bottom of the pan. You’ll notice that the mixture changes colour suddenly – keep stirring until you feel the mixture become more viscous. It took me about 45 minutes to get to this stage.
  4. Turn the heat off, quickly take your teaspoon and scoop a little of the mixture out and dunk it into the cold water. You are looking for your mixture to ooze off the spoon slowly. If you feel it – carefully! it’s still hot! – it should be quite hard. Pour your tablet mixture into your pre-prepared lined tin.
  5. Leave for 10-15 minutes then take a sharp knife and quickly mark your tablet into small bite-sized pieces. Leave your tablet to cool completely – or better still, overnight – before turning out of the pan and breaking up.
  6. Give to anyone you wish to be your bestestest friend. Hide from the children.

Let me know how you get on if you make this!

This is my first ever link-up to Honest Mum’s Tasty Tuesday, hosted today at Capture by Lucy. Hop over for some more yummies!

Tasty Tuesdays on HonestMum.com

In case you missed it, please check out yesterday’s NaBloPoMo post. The more the merrier!

8 thoughts on “Tablet

  1. i have heard of tablet – i think someone on twitter mentioned it actually. it sounds very sweet but also delicious and i do like the storage jar you have used to present it in x

  2. I tried it unsupervised by an adult once. I was about 23. I was taught to use an electric hand blender, we all know the secret to fine tablet is beating it well after all.

    Hand blenders melt. Never made it since.

Please do leave a comment, they make me cheerful :)

